Ballade: Quartet from Arch

  • Musical Composition

for violin, cello, clarinet and piano, 12'. Originally published by MMB, this composition was taken over by Theodore Presser Company. For the dedicatee, Diachronos Ensemble, Jaffe has adapted a movement from his larger work, Arch. According to the composer, "The poetic title BALLADE was chosen here because of the wistful, reflective, and turbulent qualities of the music, but also because of the virtuosic nature of the piano’s part, which which the violin, clarinet, and cello interact." For advanced performers. Duration: 12' (publisher's website).

Duke Faculty Artists/Collaborators

Cited Artists/Collaborators

  • Stephen Jaffe

Creation Date

  • 1981