Fanny Hensel: The Other Mendelssohn



© 2010 by Oxford University Press, Inc. All rights reserved. Granddaughter of the philosopher Moses Mendelssohn and sister of the composer Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, Fanny Hensel (1805-47) was an extraordinary musician who left well over four hundred compositions, most of which fell into oblivion until their rediscovery late in the 20th century. This book offers a compelling, authoritative account of Hensel's life and music, and her struggle to emerge as a publicly recognized composer.

Full Text

Duke Authors

Cited Authors

  • Todd, RL

Published Date

  • October 3, 2011

Start / End Page

  • 1 - 454

International Standard Book Number 13 (ISBN-13)

  • 9780195180800

Digital Object Identifier (DOI)

  • 10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195180800.001.0001

Citation Source

  • Scopus