Major clades of Agaricales: a multilocus phylogenetic overview.

Journal Article (Journal Article)

An overview of the phylogeny of the Agaricales is presented based on a multilocus analysis of a six-gene region supermatrix. Bayesian analyses of 5611 nucleotide characters of rpb1, rpb1-intron 2, rpb2 and 18S, 25S, and 5.8S ribosomal RNA genes recovered six major clades, which are recognized informally and labeled the Agaricoid, Tricholomatoid, Marasmioid, Pluteoid, Hygrophoroid and Plicaturopsidoid clades. Each clade is discussed in terms of key morphological and ecological traits. At least 11 origins of the ectomycorrhizal habit appear to have evolved in the Agaricales, with possibly as many as nine origins in the Agaricoid plus Tricholomatoid clade alone. A family-based phylogenetic classification is sketched for the Agaricales, in which 30 families, four unplaced tribes and two informally named clades are recognized.

Full Text

Duke Authors

Cited Authors

  • Matheny, PB; Curtis, JM; Hofstetter, V; Aime, MC; Moncalvo, J-M; Ge, Z-W; Slot, JC; Ammirati, JF; Baroni, TJ; Bougher, NL; Hughes, KW; Lodge, DJ; Kerrigan, RW; Seidl, MT; Aanen, DK; DeNitis, M; Daniele, GM; Desjardin, DE; Kropp, BR; Norvell, LL; Parker, A; Vellinga, EC; Vilgalys, R; Hibbett, DS

Published Date

  • November 2006

Published In

Volume / Issue

  • 98 / 6

Start / End Page

  • 982 - 995

PubMed ID

  • 17486974

Electronic International Standard Serial Number (EISSN)

  • 1557-2536

International Standard Serial Number (ISSN)

  • 1557-2536

Digital Object Identifier (DOI)

  • 10.3852/mycologia.98.6.982


  • eng