The structure and function of gamma c-dependent cytokines and receptors: regulation of T lymphocyte development and homeostasis.

Journal Article (Journal Article;Review)

Five cytokines, IL-2, IL-4, IL-7, IL-9, and IL-15, form one group that is characterized by utilizing the common gamma chain (gamma c) as a receptor subunit. Examination of the phenotype of various cytokine or cytokine receptor "knockout" mice demonstrates that these cytokines are critical for normal lymphocyte development and subsequent functional activity of the peripheral immune compartment. This review summarizes the structural and functional properties of each of these five cytokines and their receptors, including the known redundant pathways for each cytokine or receptor. The contribution of these cytokines and receptors will then be considered in detail with respect to regulation of T lymphocyte development and homeostasis of the peripheral T cell compartment.

Full Text

Duke Authors

Cited Authors

  • He, YW; Malek, TR

Published Date

  • January 1, 1998

Published In

Volume / Issue

  • 18 / 6

Start / End Page

  • 503 - 524

PubMed ID

  • 9862091

International Standard Serial Number (ISSN)

  • 1040-8401

Digital Object Identifier (DOI)

  • 10.1615/critrevimmunol.v18.i6.20


  • eng

Conference Location

  • United States