Skip to main content
Welcome to the new Scholars 3.0! Read about new features and let us know what you think.

Erica Field CV

Professor of Economics
Box 90097, Durham, NC 27708
319 Social Sciences, Box 90097, Durham, NC 27708-0097

Awards & Honors

Elaine Bennett Research Prize

National AEA Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession · 2010 The Elaine Bennett Research Prize was established in 1998 to recognize and honor outstanding research in any field of economics by a woman at the beginning of her career. The prize is given in honor of Elaine Bennett, who mentored many women economists at the start of their careers and made significant contributions to economic theory and experimental economics during her short professional career. The previous winners of this prize are Judith Chevalier of Yale University, Susan Athey of Harvard University, Esther Duflo of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Marianne Bertrand of the University of Chicago, Monika Piazzesi of Stanford University and Amy Finkelstein of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. CSWEP represents women’s points of views in the committee work of the American Economic Association (AEA), monitors the progress of women within the profession, and makes an annual report to the AEA on the status of women in economics. CSWEP associates are women and men in the diverse areas of the profession – in academe, government and business. More about this award

Furer Fellow

Department Harvard University, Department of Economics · 2010 The Fellowship was established in 2003 by Andrew E. Furer, A.B. ’75, J.D. ’77 for tenure-track Economics faculty research and development. Mr. Furer has a long history of supporting Economics at Harvard, his field of concentration as a Harvard undergraduate.

Sloan Research Fellowship

National Alfred P. Sloan Foundation · 2009 The Sloan Research Fellowships seek to stimulate fundamental research by early-career scientists and scholars of outstanding promise. These two-year fellowships are awarded yearly to 126 researchers in recognition of distinguished performance and a unique potential to make substantial contributions to their field. More about this award

Albert Rees Prize for the Outstanding Princeton Ph.D. Dissertation in Labor Economics

Department Princeton University · 2007 The prize is awarded every two years for Princeton Ph.D. dissertations, completed within the last six years, judged to have made outstanding contributions to labor economics. The prize commemorates Al Rees's great contributions to labor economics at Princeton as a scholar, teacher, mentor, colleague, and friend. The prize carries an honorarium and a commemorative plaque. More about this award

Fellowship of Woodrow Wilson Scholars

School Princeton University · 2001 The Fellowship of Woodrow Wilson Scholars was initiated in 1994, bringing together graduate students and faculty in the fields of greatest concern to President Wilson (mostly the social sciences and history). Today, the graduate student and faculty fellows meet twice a month for presentations given by faculty fellows and dissertation discussions led by graduate student fellows to examine multi- and interdisciplinary perspectives in relation to important issues of international and domestic public policy. The fellowship provides support at a level comparable to a Princeton University teaching or research assistantship and also covers tuition expenses. The fellowship also includes a grant to support some research expenses and a meal allowance for the lunch meetings. More about this award

International Dissertation Research Fellowship

National Andrew W. Mellon Foundation · 2000 The International Dissertation Research Fellowship (IDRF) Program supports the next generation of scholars in the humanities and humanistic social sciences pursuing research that advances knowledge about non-US cultures and societies. Since its inception in 1997, the IDRF program has funded more than eleven hundred projects, with research spanning the globe. The IDRF program is funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. More about this award

Susan K. Welles Alumni Graduate School Fellowship

National Vassar College · 1998 Emilie Louise Wells Fellowship - To aid in the advancement of knowledge of economics and social activities and to promote social work. Open to members of the graduating class and to alumni. More about this award

J. William Fulbright Fellow

National U.S.-Peruvian Committee · 1996 The Fulbright Scholar Program offers nearly 470 teaching, research or combination teaching/research awards in over 125 countries. Opportunities are available for college and university faculty and administrators as well as for professionals, artists, journalists, scientists, lawyers, independent scholars and many others. In addition to several new program models designed to meet the changing needs of U.S. academics and professionals, Fulbright is offering more opportunities for flexible, multi-country grants. More about this award

Anne C. Hutchinson Thesis Prize in Economics

Department Vassar College · 1996

In the News