Skip to main content

Guillermo Sapiro

James B. Duke Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Office hours By appointment. Contact via e-mail.  

Awards & Honors


National National Academy of Engineering · 2022 "For contributions to the theory and practice of imaging." _____ Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education." More about this award


National American Academy of Arts & Sciences · 2018 Area: Mathematical and Physical Sciences; Specialty: Mathematics, Applied Mathematics, and Statistics More about this award

Stansell Family Distinguished Research Award

School Pratt School of Engineering · 2017 Given each year to an outstanding researcher. These faculty inspire their colleagues, serve others, contribute to the knowledge base and have a deep passion for their work. More about this award

Distinguished Israel Pollack Lecturer

International Technion (Haifa, Israel) · March 2016

Plenary Speaker

National European Signal Processing Conference (EUSIPCO) · September 2014

Science Advisory Board

National Institute for Computational and Experimental Research in Mathematics (ICERM), Brown University · 2014

Member, Board on Mathematical Sciences and their Applications (BMSA)

National The National Academies · 2014


Scholarly Society Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) · 2014


National Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics · 2013

Helmholtz Prize

National IEEE Computer Society · 2011

National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellow

National US Department of Defense · 2010

In the News