Skip to main content

Michael J. Therien

William R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor of Chemistry
Box 90346, Durham, NC 27708-0346
5330 French Family Science Cen, Durham, NC 27708

Awards & Honors

Fulbright Distinguished Scholar

National U.S. Department of State · 2024

Inter-American Photochemical Society Award in Photochemistry

International I-APS · 2024

Florida Award

National American Chemical Society · 2023

R. B. Woodward Career Award in Porphyrin Chemistry

International Society of Porphyrins and Phthalocyanines · 2022


International Royal Society of Chemistry · 2021


National John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation · 2020


National Flemish Academy of Arts and Sciences · 2009

International Francqui Chair

International Belgium · 2008


National American Association for the Advancement of Science · 2005

American Chemical Society Philadelphia Section Award

National American Chemical Society · 2004

Porphyrins and Phthalocyanines Young Investigator Award

National Society of Porphyrins & Phthalocyanines · 2002

Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar

National Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation, Inc. · 1997

E. I. duPont de Nemours Young Faculty Award

National DuPont · 1995

Sloan Research Fellowship-Chemistry

National Alfred P. Sloan Foundation · 1995

National Science Foundation Young Investigator

National National Science Foundation · 1993

Beckman Young Investigators

National Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation · 1992

Searle Scholar

National Searle Scholars Program · 1991