Skip to main content

Virginia Byers Kraus

Professor of Medicine
Medicine, Rheumatology and Immunology
Duke Box 104775, Durham, NC 27701
300 N Duke St, Carmichael Building Room 15-205, Durham, NC 27701-2047


Virginia Byers Kraus, MD, PhD, is the Mary Bernheim Distinguished Professor of Medicine, Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, Professor of Pathology and a faculty member of the Duke Molecular Physiology Institute in the Duke University School of Medicine. She is a practicing Rheumatologist with over 30 years’ experience in translational musculoskeletal research focusing on osteoarthritis, the most common of all arthritides. She trained at Brown University (ScB 1979), Duke University (MD 1982, PhD 1993) and the Duke University School of Medicine (Residency in Internal Medicine and Fellowship in Rheumatology). Her career has focused on elucidating osteoarthritis pathogenesis and translational research into the discovery and validation of biomarkers for early osteoarthritis detection, prediction of progression, monitoring of disease status, and facilitation of therapeutic developments. She is co-PI of the Foundation for NIH Biomarkers Consortium Osteoarthritis project. Trained as a molecular biologist and a Rheumatologist, she endeavors to study disease from bedside to bench.

Current Appointments & Affiliations

Professor of Medicine · 2010 - Present Medicine, Rheumatology and Immunology, Medicine
Mary Bernheim Distinguished Professor of Medicine · 2021 - Present Medicine, Rheumatology and Immunology, Medicine
Professor of Pathology · 2010 - Present Pathology, Clinical Science Departments
Professor in Orthopaedic Surgery · 2015 - Present Orthopaedic Surgery, Clinical Science Departments
Member of Duke Molecular Physiology Institute · 2013 - Present Duke Molecular Physiology Institute, Duke Molecular Physiology Institute
Affiliate of the Duke Regeneration Center · 2021 - Present Duke Regeneration Center, Basic Science Departments

Education, Training & Certifications

Duke University · 1993 Ph.D.
Duke University · 1982 M.D.