Skip to main content

Anna Gassman-Pines CV

Professor in the Sanford School of Public Policy
Sanford School of Public Policy
Box 90312, Durham, NC 27708-0245
124 Rubenstein Hall, Durham, NC 27708

Awards & Honors

Mavis Hetherington Award for Excellence in Applied Developmental Science

Scholarly Society American Psychological Association · 2024 The Hetherington award is to recognize excellence in scholarship and contributions to applied developmental science. This is intended for individuals whose work has not only advanced the science of developmental psychology, but also has helped to promote well-being of children, families, and groups or organizations. These contributions could have been made through applied research, direct service, advocacy, influencing public policy or education, or other activities that have improved outcomes for children and families.

Rosabeth Moss Kanter Award for Excellence in Work-Family Research

Scholarly Society Work and Family Researchers Network · 2022 The Kanter Award is given to the authors who publish the best work-family research article during a calendar year (note that “family” is broadly defined). No external nominations are accepted for the award. Instead, every article published in a large number of scientific journals is scrutinized by a large committee of esteemed scholars who generate a list of award candidates. More about this award

Mid-Career Award for Outstanding Contributions to Children, Youth, and Families

Scholarly Society American Psychological Association · 2021 The purpose of this award is to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions in science, policy, and practice that benefit the psychological functioning or well-being of children, youth, and families. Well-being is defined broadly to include mental and physical health, cognitive/educational, and socio-emotional outcomes. These outcomes can extend beyond the individual and include parents and family systems as well.

Dean's Award for Excellence in Mentoring

School The Duke University Graduate School · 2018 The Duke University Graduate School created the Dean’s Award for Excellence in Mentoring to recognize the considerable efforts and accomplishments of faculty who consistently serve as effective mentors. Designed to allow graduate students to identify faculty who embody both the letter and spirit of mentoring, this award contributes to the university’s continuing efforts to cultivate a culture of mentoring. More about this award

Duncombe Excellence in Doctoral Education Award

National Network of Schools of Public Policy, Affairs, and Administration (NASPAA) · 2017

Richard A. Stubbing Teacher Mentor Award

School Sanford School of Public Policy, Duke University · May 2011

Sulzberger Faculty Fellowship

Other Center for Child and Family Policy, Duke University · May 2011

Foundation for Child Development Young Scholars Award

Other Unknown · May 2009

In the News